Give Us This Day


Give us this day our daily bread.  The fourth sentence in what is lovingly called the Lord’s Prayer.  Why have I chosen it as my title?  I’ve come to realize that the reason so many of us are unsuccessful at living victoriously day-to-day is because we misunderstand this principle. You see we live not in the now but in the past and future.  We constantly pine over what we cannot change and fret about what we do not yet know.  In the gospel of Matthew, the first instance where we see this prayer recorded, it is in the midst of the wealth of teaching provided during the Sermon on the Mount.  In fact in verses preceding the Lord’s prayer we see the Beatitudes and the similitudes.  In verses after the Lord’s prayer we see instruction on anxiety with particular instruction concerning the future.  Mathew 6:34(KJV) “Take therefore no thought for the morrow for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself.  Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”  Why is this of particular interest? because we find that worrying about what we know not only produces erratic behavior.  You see if I live in the moment and seek the Lord to provide me with all that I need to successfully tackle today, He will do it.  If I make this my practice He will consistently prove Himself faithful to supply me with my daily needs.  He sees the whole picture and is far more equipped to handle it than I will ever be.  As far as the past goes Philippians 3:12-14 .  There is nothing that I can do about what has already happened except acknowledge, learn and heal from it and keep moving forward. 

I especially selected this topic when thinking about how many of my brothers and sisters struggle with the sin addiction.  A good friend of mine told me once that people protect and guard what they love, that includes sin.  We plan for it.  Make provisions and excuses for it.  We even conceal it. Why?  Because we love it.  The reason it cannot be conquered is because we attempt to look at the span of time from beginning to end and we are not meant to see that far.  I can only see and handle the day before me.  I’m not equipped to focus on anything more.  Does that mean not to plan for the future, definitely not,  it does mean that what is most pressing is the moment at hand.  Success, won by a single decision at the right time.  If I make decisions today based upon my yesterday and my tomorrow I will fail ultimately with regard to all.  You win the war against your flesh one day at a time lived second by second, minute by minute, hour upon hour and no way else.  Seek to focus on today after all Jesus said it best Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.  You defeat tomorrow’s foe by successfully navigating today, today.  Ask God as I ask him, Give me this day all that I need to triumph in you!

Leave a Reply

